Punk Flyers 1980-1990: Gwar/Serial Killers

This week I have pulled out 2 old flyers from bands that I used to be in. An old GWAR poster from 1986 and a Flyer for a show Throttle played with The Serial Killers from 1990 or 1991 (I am not sure, that era was a blur). If you were at either of these shows, use the comments section and tell me about your experience.

Gwar  Live

Gwar @Floodzone 1986

 

This early GWAR flyer is from 1986, GWAR’s 3rd show, featuring the first appearance of Gor Gor and Cardinal Syn at Richmond’s Floodzone. I was lucky enough to be a part of the early “Dim Times” line-up of Gwar as Joey Slutman (1985-1986), a time when early songs were written (Time for Death, Slutman City,Pure as the Arctic Snow) and costumes were designed. The Richmond Dairy  building (affectionately called the Milk Bottle) was the original “Slave Pit”, and many of us lived within the bottle as a  community of artists. Our practice space was there, as was the design studio, where we would spend hours choreographing fight scenes, and making props and costumes. I remember that once we got on stage though, the scenes would regress into a free-for-all improv, since we usually forgot the moves. Video for Pure as the Arctic Snow here.

An interesting fact about this show is that  almost all of the opening bands Armpit, Unseen Force and Geek Maggot Bingo had members become players in future Gwar incarnations. Here is a trivia question that will test the mettle of the most die-hard Bohab: What members of the above mentioned opening bands went on to become members of Gwar? leave your answers in the comments section.

It was a great time to be young, not giving a damn about anything but creating and enjoying the moment. This era was one of the happiest times in my life, and I feel privileged to have been a part of it. I still feel awe when I think that Dave Brockie was able to keep this unwieldy beast going for 30+ years, defying all the odds in making GWAR bigger and more successful over the years, when in reality, most bands experienced the opposite effect. This flyer was designed and illustrated by Hunter Jackson and Dave Brockie, and I remember sitting in the Slave Pit and coloring in the blood splashes on about 50 of the flyers. RIP Dave, you are  missed but never forgotten.

 

 

Image

 

Once I moved to Philadelphia in 1986, it took me 2 years to settle in, get to know new people, and find some guys to play music with. I wound up starting a band called Throttle in 1988, and I have played with the same guitarist til this day, still performing some of our early songs with our present band MAN is DOOMED!. Throttle was lucky enough to play with some great bands like The Bad Brains, Helmet, Skinyard, Gruntruck, Dead Milkmen,  Murphy’s Law and many more. One of my favorite shows was when we played with our Philadelphia brothers The Serial Killers at Philly’s venerable club  J.C. Dobbs . I think this was around 1990 or 1991.We always had a fun time with them, and it was great to see them do a reunion show in Philly recently…hopefully it won’t be the last time.

2 Comments

June 27, 2014 · 12:22 pm

2 responses to “Punk Flyers 1980-1990: Gwar/Serial Killers

  1. Eva

    I am reading through this thinking we had to run into each other. So crazy! I saw Throttle, Geek Maggot Bingo and the Serial Killers at least once. Some of the members of Gwar were my neighbors when I lived by Bogarts!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Eva, been off the blog for the most part, sorry I missed this. Ironic, because I was in Throttle, as well as being Joey Slutman in Gwar from 85-86. I am sure we may have crossed paths at some point or other. It blows me away that Bogarts is still there.

      Like

Leave a Reply

