The Thugbrarian Review Top Ten Books of 2014

Welcome to the first Thugbrarian Review Top 10 Books of 2014 list. Since I am the lone writer for this blog, I can only speak for the books that I have personally read this past year, because there were a load of great books published that I didn’t get to read. I was able to read 60 books from cover to cover, another 15 that I skimmed through, and about 20 that I just couldn’t bring myself to finish- the latter are what we here at TR call poopers. I have picked the 10 books published in 2014 that I liked the best, for one reason or another.

I  have a mix of mostly fiction, and some Non-Fiction (all History), with one graphic novel; some I read as E-book arcs, with the rest being advance galley editions furnished by LibraryThing, Goodreads, Netgalley and directly from publishers and authors. Be sure to follow the links under each book cover to read my reviews. Feel free to use the comment section to name your favorites of the year, or even to deride my choices.

I am looking forward to the new books I will be reading throughout 2015, so follow the blog and read my reviews. Lastly, once you have gone through the list, check out the Thugbrarian Review Top Albums of 2014 List in the music section of the blog.

 

Last Winter we parted

1. Last Winter, We Parted – by Fuminori Nakamura (Soho Press)

Nakamura is one of the newer master storytellers to come out of Japan. The ending is what made this my favorite book of the year. Japanese crime-noir at its best.

Read my review from September 17th HERE

 

 

cry father by benjamin Whitmer
2. Cry Father – by Benjamin Whitmer (Gallery Books)
Cry Father delivered a dark, and tense story of fathers and brothers, alcoholism and violence. A lot of violence. If Cormac McCarthy and Flannery O’Connor had a child, it would be named Benjamin Whitmer.

Read my review from September 7th HERE

 

Harry August title

 

3. The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August  -by Claire North (Redhook)

I love a good time-travel yarn, and this one had it in spades- action, history, the occult and great storytelling make this a sure bet for an excellent read.

Read my Review from June 9th HERE

 

Fame Whore by Mike Hudson
4. Fame Whore – by Mike Hudson (Power City Press)
Written by Mike Hudson, singer of  early Punk Icons The Pagans,  and packed with insights into the Los Angeles Twitter culture, alcohol abuse and delusion, wrapped inside a twisted story of true love. I found Fame Whore to be entertaining from the first page to the last.

Read my review from August 11th HERE

 

Latticework by Libby
5. Latticework – by D.B. Libby (Createspace)

A quirky science fiction crime story with a bit of awkward romance. I’ve said it once, and I’ll say it again, the ending is what really makes a great book to me, and Latticework’s final pages will blow you away with shock and surprise.

Read my review from September 22 HERE
Love Me back
6. Love Me Back-by Merritt Tierce (Doubleday)
This book surprised me, as I was expecting a weepy “Girly” book. What I got was a gritty, brutally honest view into the life of a waitress at a steak house. Teirce does not hold back, the tale of drug and alcohol abuse. oblivious sex and depression will grab you from the first page.

Read my review from December 20th HERE

 

 

Broken Monsters
7. Broken Monsters – By Lauren Beukes (Mulholland Books)
Broken Monsters is a captivating mix of Horror, Crime/Thriller and the Occult. A tough Detective, who balances being a single mom and the search for a serial killer with an artistic streak is the center of the story. The final pages will leave your head spinning.

Read my review from August 25th HERE

 

 

The Harlem Hellfighters
8. The Harlem Hellfighters – by Max Brooks & Caanan White (Broadway Books)
This beautifully illustrated Graphic Novel tells the story of the all African-American 369th Infantry regiment during  WWI. Caanan White‘s black ink illustrations are some of  the best art I have seen in a graphic Novel, somewhat reminiscent of  Frank Miller’s style. Max Brooks‘ (World War Z, The Zombie Survival Guide)  story is riveting as he tells an accurate, historical account while keeping it entertaining.

Read my review from May 26th HERE

 

 

Glorious War

9. Glorious War: The Civil War Adventures Of George Armstrong Custer – by Thom Hatch (St. Martin’s Press)
While most of us are all too familiar with Custer’s last stand, there is more to George Armstrong Custer than his one failure (as huge as it was). Glorious War chronicles Custer’s rise through the ranks, as well as his multitude of heroic acts during the Civil War. You may well see Custer in an entirely different light.

Read my review from May 26th HERE

 

 

Hanns and Rudolf
10. Hanns and Rudolf: The True Story of the German Jew Who Tracked Down and  Caught the Kommandant of Auschwitz – by Thomas Harding (Simon & Schuster)

There have been many books written about the Holocaust, and I have read quite a few of them; Hanns and Rudolf by Thomas Harding adds a new dimension to the bibliography, in that it chronicles the lives of two Germans in parallel-one a German Jew who along with his family, barely made it out of Nazi Germany alive, and the other the Kommandant of Auschwitz. What makes this story unique is that it offers the personal perspective of each man’s experience, allowing the reader to view the horror in detail through the eyes of each man.

Read my review from June 30th HERE

As always, I thank the small, but elite group of people who have followed and supported my blog, it means a lot to me. See you in 2015.

Go to the Thugbrarian Review Top Ten Albums of 2014 list HERE

 

 

1 Comment

December 28, 2014 · 11:53 am

One response to “The Thugbrarian Review Top Ten Books of 2014

  1. Pingback: The Thugbrarian Set-List: Top 10 Albums of 2014 | The Thugbrarian Review

Leave a Reply

