Book Review: The Brothers Cro-Magnon by Roger Pepper

The Brothers Cro-Magnon was not what I had hoped it would be, but I still think that it is a great idea for a novel, and that many would enjoy this book. I was hoping to start the year off with a bang, but so far, I have read 2 poopers and this “OK” book.  My to read pile looks promising however, and it is my hope that I will be reading some amazing stories this coming week.

Roger Pepper

 

The Brothers Cro-Magnon

by Roger Pepper
TrekkerPress (2014) Paperback, 324 pages

I didn’t love or hate this book- I enjoyed various aspects of the story, while at times, I felt that
certain points of the dialog were either unnecessary, or bloated. The story revolves around a small, clandestine  group  of  scientists producing Cro-magnon/Human hybrids, as well as some Mammoths, via insemination of frozen, ancient sperm is a stretch, but leaves room for an exciting, or at the least, entertaining story. This book may have just been ok for me, but I can see how it would appeal to many readers of Michael Crichton. I really believe that if the writing was a little more cohesive, and the story tightened up some, this would be a 4 star book, because it is a great idea, just not executed as well as I had hoped.

*** (3 out of 5)

When I wasn’t wishing for a better book, I was listening to The Bad Brains – Rock for Light. This was produced by Ric Ocasek of The Cars, and when the volume is raised, it will send chills up your spine.

hardcore Punk

 

Listen to the full album on Youtube HERE

Leave a comment

January 4, 2015 · 6:55 pm

Leave a Reply

